DNN Pages or Modules Keep Disappearing
An existing page or module in a DNN site is deleted (moved to the Recycle Bin) daily or weekly without apparent input from a Host or Admin user. It is usually a page or module that was recently created or modified.
Most often this is the result of incorrect permissions being set on a page or module. Content set to to allow editing by the All Users role allows all links, including DNN function links, to be indexed and executed by anyone. This means that if a module has the Edit permission enabled for the 'All Users' role, crawlers like Google or Bing will index the link containing the delete function and execute it, sending content to the Recycle bin.
The permissions section for pages and modules is very similar regardless of DNN version, and can be accessed while in Edit mode either through Page Settings under the Edit menu, or through the Settings widget on a module. Below is an example of an incorrect setting that would allow this issue to occur:
Correct the permissions for the affected content, as described above. Generally, only the Administrators role should have the Edit permission checked unless you have designed the content to be edited by other custom roles.